Blackpool Snooker Company
Blackpool Snooker Shop Online
Sign–in Register Order tracking
Your Basket (Empty)
PayPal logo Accepted Cards

Taylor whitewashes Painter

Phil Taylor

Wizard Whitlock works his magic to see off Thornton

Phil Taylor produced a blistering display of darts to dismantle Kevin Painter 9-0 in the fourth round of the UK Open in Bolton.

Having demolished Wayne Mardle 9-2 on Friday night, the Power was once again at his electrifying best at the Reebok Stadium.

He finished the one-sided contest against the Artist with an astonishing average of 118.66 - a new record for a televised match.

Poor Painter didn't even get a single shot at a double, Taylor winning three legs in just 11 darts while also hitting six maximum scores.


"Kevin's a great player and I knew I had to perform to beat him," said Taylor afterwards.

"It sends a message out to the other players for the next round, and I love the competition of darts at the moment."

Next up for Taylor will be Simon Whitlock - the man he defeated in the World Darts Championship final back in January.

The Australian was no slouch himself in his 9-4 success over Robert Thornton, finishing with an average of 104.55.

After slipping 4-2 behind, Whitlock reeled off seven successive legs to sweep to victory. He had a 50 percent checkout ratio despite hitting just one double in his first nine attempts.

Former champion James Wade is also through to the fifth round after ending the hopes of Irish youngster William O'Connor with a 9-3 win.

The Machine will face Kevin McDine, who came from 8-6 down to see off qualifier Paul Warwick 9-8, on the main stage later on Saturday.

Gary Anderson and Mervyn King will do battle for a place in the quarter-finals having overcome Paul Nicholson and Michael Smith respectively.

Dutchmen defeated

Any hopes of a Dutch victory in the tournament were ended when both Jelle Klaasen and 2004 winner Roland Scholten were knocked out.

Klaasen was beaten 9-6 by Wayne Jones while his compatriot Scholten found Alan Tabern too hot to handle, going down 9-5.

Colin Osborne, last year's beaten finalist, is also out after suffering a 9-5 loss at the hands of Adrian Lewis, while another former runner-up, Mark Walsh, threw away a 5-0 lead against Sussex thrower Tony Ayres.

However Ronnie Baxter and Andy Hamilton are through after respective wins over Tony Eccles and Alex Roy. Wes Newton reached the last 16 for the third successive year with a 9-1 rout of Steve Maish.


5th June 2010, 20:14
Page updated 5th Jun 2010, 20:14
BRICK | instant websites

© 2024 Blackpool Snooker Company. All rights reserved.

Page updated 5th Jun 2010, 20:14

Designed and maintained by Brick technology Ltd.
BRICK | Instant Websites